Tina Paquet
Risk Manager, City of Houston

Tina is the Risk Manager and Assistant Director for the City of Houston, Administration & Regulatory Affairs Department. She joined municipal government at the City of Houston 35 years ago, following a professional insurance career that began in insurance claims at Kemper Insurance and corporate risk management at United Energy Resources.

During her tenure, Tina established the City of Houston’s property and casualty commercial insurance program and developed the city’s professional insurance broker services contract. In addition to her many responsibilities, Tina manages the city’s $11B property insurance program for more than 3,400 insured locations.

She is responsible for post disaster insurance recoveries and successfully settled the City of Houston’s insurance claims for four FEMA declared natural disasters; Tropical Storm Allison, Hurricane Ike, the Memorial Day Flood and Hurricane Harvey. These claim settlements ranged from $5M for the Memorial Day Flood to the full property insurance policy limit of $102.7M for Hurricane Harvey.

Tina was recognized by Insurance Business America as the Leading Risk Manager for 2018.

She has been a long-time member of Texas Chapter PRIMA since it’s inception in 1989. She was fortunate to attend the first chapter conference in McAllen, TX in 1990. She served on the Board of Directors from 1998 to 2005 and during that time, was honored to serve as the chapter president twice. In 2004, Tina received the Texas PRIMA Chapter Service Award. She is a member of National PRIMA and is also affiliated with the Houston Claims Association. Tina is a licensed Multi-Line Insurance Adjuster in the State of Texas.

previous honorees / Risk Professional of the Year:
2021 -  Nancy Mckenzie -City of Arlington
2020 - Debby Glass, Northside ISD
2019 - Gilbert Sanchez, City of Corpus Christi
2018 - Ida Wall, Alief ISD
2017 - Robert Warren, CRM, City of Arlington
2016 – Melissa Steger, UT System

2015 – Leslie Milvo, City of Austin
2014 – Norma Martinez, City of Sugar Land

2013 – Rick Stockton, CSRM, Klein I.S.D.
2012 – Kermit Falgout, Houston I.S.D.
2011 – Cecil Tatum, Northside I.S.D. (San Antonio)
2010 – Clark Adkins, Corpus Christi I.S.D.
2009 – Norma Carabajal Essary, CPCU, ARM, DFW International Airport
2008 – Gary Urban, City of Waco
2007 – Bill Tarro, Lubbock I.S.D.
2006 – Darrell Wells, City of Odessa
2005 – Robby Neill, City of Garland
2004 – Martha Rider, Fort Bend County
2003 – Ron Josselet, SORM
2002 – Robert Waggoner, City of Denton
2001 – Cheryl Johnson, Dallas I.S.D.
2000 – David Kester, Harris County
1999 – Alan Smith, Garland I.S.D.
1998 – Terri Richardson, Northeast I.S.D.
1997 – Leroy Hyltin, Jr., City of Waco
1996 – James Huckaby, Mesquite I.S.D.
1995 – Joey Page, City of Plano